Nautilus Script: Upload Documents to Google Docs

EDIT: I apologize to those who have downloaded and failed to run my Python script. I forgot to mention in my post that this script requires Google Data Python API. You need to download it first from this URL:

http://code.google.com/p/gdata-python-client/

Direct download: http://gdata-python-client.googlecode.com/files/gdata-2.0.6.tar.gz

I am a BIG  fan of Google’s word processing editor : Google Docs.  It has become an indispensable part of my academic life.  To be honest, I have not touched MS Office since I discovered it. Everything’s got thrown up to Google Docs and … Done!! No more USB flash drive to carry on;  no more long time spending to search for a particular document which you don’t even remember its name. With Google Docs, just type the “unique” word that I am sure it is in the document. Boom…! My document shows up in no time. 🙂

OK, sure that’s enough advertising for Google :)) .  Since Google Docs is that important to me,  I wrote a small script for Nautilus(kind of extension). This script provide an convenient way to upload your documents from local hard drive to Google Docs.

Just select all files you want to be sent to GDocs, then click on extension menu of Nautilus. That’s it.

The script itself was written in Python. It used  Zenity to take care of its GUI (~for simplicity’s sake). It supports all common document types. If some certain file’s formats are not supported to upload to Google Docs, you have the option to upload them as plain-text.

Instruction to install a Nautilus script can be found here: NautilusScriptHowto

You can download the script here: Send2GDocs.py

Send2GDocs Nautilus Script

Have fun and stay warm!

7 Comments

Filed under Programming

7 responses to “Nautilus Script: Upload Documents to Google Docs

  1. Agent-X

    It does not work.

  2. Agent-X

    There is no server address.. no website that is in the script. How exactly was this suppose to upload somewhere?

  3. Sorry, man.
    I just edited and included link to download the API from Google.
    Let me know if you still have any trouble running it.

  4. Good fill someone in on and this fill someone in on helped me alot in my college assignement. Gratefulness you for your information.

  5. mufti

    uploadnig pdf only worked for me after modifying service.py http://code.google.com/p/gdata-issues/issues/detail?id=591

  6. yeah, they’ve just recently supported uploading other file types like pdf. You can modify the script to upload all types of file to Google Docs. 🙂

  7. carimt

    Hey, just noticed your script is uploaded in Box.com and i’m trying to write a nautilus extension to upload files to Box.com that works similar to nautilus-dropbox but i’m still kind of lost.. do you know if it’s possible?

Leave a Reply

