What if today were the last day of you life?

Steve Jobs gave one of his greatest speaks in the 119th commencement of Stanford University. Don’t get me wrong. I’m not a fan of Steve Jobs, but what he said in that speak was, in my opinion, undeniably true.

…No one wants to die. Even people who want to go to heaven don’t want to die to get there. And yet death is the destination we all share. No one has ever escaped it.. – Steve Jobs

If you ask me what I should bet on to get a surest win? My answer is I’m going to bet that one day you and me will die. I will definitely win since death is the inarguable fact, the law of nature.
The only thing matter here is “when?”. It could be 40 years from now, 10 years from now, a month from now or … even today? No one knows what tomorrow will be like. You could laugh with a friend today and tomorrow you would hear the news that you would never be able to see him or her again. Sad? Yes. But that might happen to you, me or all of us. My friend died in an accident three years ago, and that was just a few hours after we talked. Since then, I have realized that if I can’t predict how long I’m going to live, I will make every single day of my life counts. Life is short.

…Remembering that I’ll be dead soon is the most important tool I’ve ever encountered to help me make the big choices in life. Because almost everything — all external expectations, all pride, all fear of embarrassment or failure – these things just fall away in the face of death, leaving only what is truly important. Remembering that you are going to die is the best way I know to avoid the trap of thinking you have something to lose. You are already naked. There is no reason not to follow your heart.. –  Steve Jobs

9 Comments

Filed under Thoughts

9 responses to “What if today were the last day of you life?

  1. Kristin Brænne

    ★★★★★

  2. Anonymous

    I still have hope that we’ll manage to fix that bug someday. Whether by solving the biological problem of aging, or by moving past the need for biology, I feel certain that humans will find a way to defeat death.

    I just hope that the Uncomfortable Truths Well proves incorrect, and we do actually manage to fix the bug within my lifetime.

    • I liked this article..!
      We always have a next and there is something definitely ‘next to death’. I believe death is not an end, it’s actually a gate way through which a soul passes to the ‘next’ ‘An Irreversible Next’.

      And as a reply to ‘Anonymous’ ..I bet u..u can never find something which will defeat death..! We better prepare ourself to face death.

      Amatullah @ http://www.stop0think.wordpress.com

    • Indeed, that’s what I believe as well. Someday scientists will invent a miracle medicine to defeat aging. But I don’t think that’s a good thing. We need new generations. Old things that out-of-date will need to gradually go away. Old thinkings need to be replaced with progressive thoughts. That’s how humanity has existed and evolved since the many thousand years ago.

      ..Death is very likely the single best invention of Life. It is Life’s change agent. It clears out the old to make way for the new. Right now the new is you, but someday not too long from now, you will gradually become the old and be cleared away.. – Steve Jobs

  3. AH

    I loved that speech where these quotes are from. That’s so true. One really never knows when their time will come.

    AH
    http://ahechoes.wordpress.com

  4. Thanks for a good thought-provoking post. I probably would do some things differently if I kept this at the front of my mind.

  5. Shailendra kumar

    Thanks for sharing this ! This thought itself is life altering. No one can stay same if one follows this.

  6. Thank you all for your kind comments.

Leave a Reply

